Arctic Council nations are ‘pausing’ work after Russia’s invasion of Ukraine

In a historic move, all seven other nations of the Arctic Council will temporarily halt collaboration with Russia.

Photo: Gunnar Vigfússon / Icelandic Ministry for Foreign Affairs via Arctic Council

Seven of eight Arctic nations said Wednesday they are “pausing” the work of the Arctic Council, the top intergovernmental forum in the region, in response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

Russia is about halfway through its two-year tenure as the body’s rotating chair, which began in May 2021. Read more at ArcticToday.

Categories: Freelance Articles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 207 other subscribers

NBCC Member

%d bloggers like this: