Comics! For Fans of Lumberjanes and Ms. Marvel, for Grown-Ups, as Audiobooks, and More

This month at Panels.net, I wrote about my favorite superheroes–and everyday girls kicking ass–as well as my reasons for buying comics in real life and which comics I’d love to hear adapted to audio. Enjoy!

Let’s Get Physical: 5 Reasons to Buy Print ComicsODY-C

I have a comics-buying addiction, and I’m not the least bit sorry.

I love reading digital editions, webcomics, single issues, library copies, and review copies. But I don’t stop there. The comics that really capture my heart or strike a particular chord, I go out and buy in print. In fact, I keep a list of series I loved just in case if I’m in my LCS and want to treat myself to a favorite.

Don’t get me wrong—I’ve still got mad love for my local library and for my e-reader. I am an equal opportunity reader. But there is just something about buying books that fills a special need in me—or, to be more specific, five needs. Read more…

5 Illustrated Guides to Being a Grown-Up

It turns out, Mom and Dad weren’t kidding. Adulting is hard, y’all. But while there may not be a manual for mastering this whole grown-up thing, there are a few helpful guides! With illustrations, wise words, and very healthy doses of humor, these authors are here to get you through each day. Read more….

Love Lumberjanes? Give These Comics a Try!Lumberjanes

Who doesn’t love the hard-core lady-types at Miss Qiunzilla Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s camp? Lumberjanes is one of the most popular comics out there right now, and for good reason. Whether sparring with three-eyed foxes, battling sea serpents, or decoding mysterious messages, our heroines consistently kick butt. And they’re thoughtful and smart and hilarious to boot.

If you’re all caught up on single issues or you’re saving yourself for the next trade paperback, here are a few suggestions to feed the fire Lumberjanes hath lit. Read more…

Crazy About Kamala Khan? You’ll Love These Superheroines, Too!

Kamala Khan is everyone’s favorite teenager from Jersey City. She’s devoted to her family, she excels in school, and oh yeah she’s one of the best superheroes around.

Ms. Marvel was the first capes-and-tights book I read (one of the first comics I read at all, actually) and I was instantly hooked on this whole comics thing. Kamala is a great introduction to the comics world–but there are plenty of other kickass young ladies keeping her company. Here are a few comics to check out while Marvel gears up for Kamala’s relaunch this fall. Read more…

Adapting Comics to Audiobooks Brings Characters Even CloserMs Marvel

When I first heard Ms. Marvel was being adapted to an audiobook by GraphicAudio, I was surprised. Isn’t the art kind of the whole idea behind comics? But I soon changed my mind. Art is not the only aspect driving the narrative forward—there’s dialogue, backstory, narration, sound effects. A whole host of devices convey a story—whether in print or in your earbuds.

In fact, the more I thought about it, the more I loved the idea. Hearing the sounds of cash registers ringing, cars whizzing by, lasers blasting overhead… it’s even more immersive than reading it. You’re there, in the thick of the action—not just reading but also experiencing the action. Read more…

Guardians of the Galaxy: Gourmand Edition

Comics and cupcakes, superheroes and snacks… they just belong together. The next time you’re entertaining–whether it’s a kid’s birthday party or a more grown-up affair–try these sweets, snacks, and drinks for the perfect Guardians of the Galaxy party. Read more…

ROUND-UP POSTS:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 194 other followers

NBCC Member

%d bloggers like this: