Review of Eugenia Kim’s “The Calligrapher’s Daughter” in the Christian Science Monitor

The Calligrapher's DaughterYvonne Zip reviews Eugenia Kim’s The Calligrapher’s Daughter in the Christian Science Monitor.

Zip notes,

“Kim builds a patient spell, carefully orienting American readers who probably know little of this chapter of history. . . Fans of Lisa See’s or Amy Tan’s novels should eagerly embrace [the main character] Najin, and The Calligrapher’s Daughter bids fair to become a staple of book clubs. While the story is Najin’s, its true subject is Korea’s occupation by Japan.”

3 replies »

  1. Hi, I’ve recently begun reading The Calligrapher’s Daughter, and was really enjoying it until I came across the part where Najiin and Kira are getting water and uhm… Meet a Japanese soldier. I’m a teenager, and I was wondering if you could tell me if there are any more parts in the book that I should skip over?? I’d really like to finish the book, but minus the “adult” content. I’d aprreciate it!
    Thanks,
    Laura

    Like

    • Hi Laura,
      Thanks for the question! I understand your concern. I haven’t read the book yet, so I went straight to the source: the author, Eugenia Kim! Here’s what she said:

      “Thanks so much for your note, and for your support of the book. I’ve known 14-year-olds to read it in entirety with their mother’s approval, but Laura doesn’t say how old she is. In any case, there is a sex scene on pages 252-253. Another on 339-340. . . I’m sure there are sections I have missed (I wouldn’t have remembered about the soldier, for example), and there is scattered violence throughout (it is wartime), though none of it is gratuitous or over the top; but most of all, who am I to judge what’s appropriate for someone else’s daughter? I hope this helps.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

NBCC Member

%d bloggers like this: